KISS – Kiss Studio Album #1

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Lead vocals Length
1. Strutter
  • Paul Stanley
  • Gene Simmons
Paul Stanley 3:10
2. Nothin’ to Lose Simmons Gene Simmons and Peter Criss 3:27
3. Firehouse Stanley Stanley 3:17
4. Cold Gin Ace Frehley Simmons 4:22
5. Let Me Know Stanley Simmons and Stanley 2:58
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Lead vocals Length
6. Kissin’ Time
  • Kal Mann
  • Bernie Lowe
Simmons, Stanley, and Criss 3:52
7. Deuce Simmons Simmons 3:06
8. “Love Theme from Kiss”
  • Stanley
  • Simmons
  • Frehley
  • Peter Criss
instrumental 2:24
9. 100,000 Years
  • Stanley
  • Simmons
Stanley 3:22
10. Black Diamond Stanley Criss with Stanley 5:13
Total length: 35:11

Kiss is the debut album of the Hard Rock band Kiss. It appeared in 1974 on the label Casablanca Records. The album was produced by Kenny Kerner and Richie Wise, recorded at Bell Sound Studios in New York City. The album sold over 500,000 copies in the US and got a gold record there. In Germany, the album was released in November 1976.

With the first demo and a completely new image with make-up, the manager of the band, Bill Aucoin, managed to complete a record deal with Casablanca Records. Just two weeks after signing the contract, studio recordings began at Bell Sounds Studios in New York. The title list consists mainly of the pieces of the demo (except Watchin ‘You) and some newly written songs, of which in particular Firehouse still belongs to the classics of the band.

In the US, the album was number 87 on the Billboard 200 and received for more than 500,000 units sold a gold record. According to estimates, the album is said to have sold around 100,000 copies in Germany. In New Zealand, the album was one week in 38th place.