Hot in the Shade – Kiss Album #15

No. Title Writer(s) Lead Vocals Length
1. Rise to It Paul Stanley, Bob Halligan Jr. Stanley 4:08
2. Betrayed Gene Simmons, Tommy Thayer Simmons 3:38
3. Hide Your Heart Stanley, Desmond Child, Holly Knight Stanley 4:25
4. Prisoner of Love Simmons, Bruce Kulick Simmons 3:52
5. Read My Body Stanley, Halligan Stanley 3:50
6. Love’s a Slap in the Face Simmons, Vini Poncia Simmons 4:04
7. Forever Stanley, Michael Bolton Stanley 3:52
8. Silver Spoon Stanley, Poncia Stanley 4:38
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Lead vocals Length
9. Cadillac Dreams Simmons, Poncia Simmons 3:44
10. King of Hearts Stanley, Poncia Stanley 4:26
11. The Street Giveth and the Street Taketh Away Simmons, Thayer Simmons 3:34
12. You Love Me to Hate You Stanley, Child Stanley 4:00
13. Somewhere Between Heaven and Hell Simmons, Poncia Simmons 3:52
14. Little Caesar Eric Carr, Simmons, Adam Mitchell Carr 3:12
15. Boomerang Simmons, Kulick Simmons 3:30

Hot In The Shade is the 15th studio album of the US hardrock band Kiss and the only album in the group featuring drummer Eric Carr as the lead singer of a newly written song. At the same time, it is the last LP Carr was involved in; he died in 1991. With 15 songs it is still the studio album with the most titles of the band to this day.

After the end of the Crazy Nights tour Paul Stanley had put together a band to touring as a solo artist. In addition to Bob Kulick (guitar) and Eric Singer played in this group. Gene Simmons had already founded the record label Simmons Records in 1988 and in 1989 took over the management of Liza Minnelli.

The recordings came at a time when Def Leppard had released her masterpiece Hysteria and Bruce Fairbairn had recorded the album Permanent Vacation with Aerosmith. Both albums benefited from the wave that sparked Bon Jovi’s style, which had great success on radio stations and MTV in particular. In addition, Appetite for Destruction had been released by Guns N ‘Roses in July 1987, and Kiss had still not managed to modernize in such a way that they could compete with the current hip bands.

In contrast to the years since 1984, when Paul Stanley set the direction that swept Kiss musically, Simmons brought back to Hot In The Shade stronger: Nine of the fifteen tracks emerged under his participation. The band decided not to work with Ron Nevison, producer of the previous album Crazy Nights, and began recording demos without knowing who would do the album’s production.

For the songwriting were also external authors called in for Hot In The Shade, including Vini Poncia, who had last worked in 1980 for the album Unmasked with the group, at that time still as a producer. In addition, Desmond Child was involved, a song Paul Stanley wrote with Michael Bolton. Tommy Thayer, who was still guitarist of the band Black ‘n Blue at that time, also co-wrote two songs.

Eric Carr brought in three songs he had recorded as a demo: Is not That Peculiar, Looking Through the Eyes of Love and Somebody’s Waiting, of which Is not That Peculiar found his way to the album as Little Caesar after Carr hit him with Gene Simmons and Adam Mitchell.

The cover featured the front-photographed and digitally edited image of the Great Sphinx of Giza, wearing black sunglasses (English: Shades). In the upper right corner of the cover was a so-called “single-circle stamp”, in the middle of which stood the two-line title of the album. The outer circle was provided on the inside with also following the circular shape band logo. To the right was the wave pattern familiar from old postmarks. On the back was a photo of the band; All members wore sunglasses. The photo was centered, with the title list above, including a small Kiss logo and the names of the band members in the order in which they appeared in the photo.

The album was released on October 17, 1989 on CD, MC and LP. The single was first published Hide Your Heart. The title written by Paul Stanley, Desmond Child and Holly Knight had already been published the previous year by Bonnie Tyler, so that it was the version of Kiss at least technically a cover. The song was released in 1989 by Ace Frehley, Robin Beck and Molly Hatchet.