Dynasty – Kiss Album #7

Side one
No. Title Writer(s) Lead vocals Length
1. I Was Made for Lovin’ You Paul Stanley, Vini Poncia, Desmond Child Stanley 4:30
2. 2,000 Man” (The Rolling Stones cover) Mick Jagger, Keith Richards Ace Frehley 4:54
3. Sure Know Something Stanley, Poncia Stanley 4:00
4. Dirty Livin’ Peter Criss, Stan Penridge, Poncia Criss 4:19
Side two
No. Title Writer(s) Lead vocals Length
5. Charisma Gene Simmons, Howard Marks Simmons 4:25
6. Magic Touch Stanley Stanley 4:41
7. Hard Times Frehley Frehley 3:30
8. X-Ray Eyes Simmons Simmons 3:46
9. Save Your Love Frehley Frehley 4:41

Dynasty is the seventh studio album of the US hard-rock band Kiss. It appeared in 1979 and marked musically a short intermediate phase in the history of the rock group, which was conditioned by the then Discowelle. The album reached high chart positions. Internationally well-known and popular was the then number-one hit I Was Made for Lovin ‘You.

The musical band history knows several distinct phases. From 1974 to 1977, Kiss had recorded six studio albums with Kiss, Hotter Than Hell, Dressed to Kill, Destroyer, Rock and Roll Over and Love Gun, which had their typical Hard Rock comparably constant and without major deviations. As a conclusion to this first phase, the four solo projects released in 1978 by all four band members can be counted, each under the band name. With the album Dynasty kiss 1979 for the first time departed from their original line. The record was the first of two albums that were influenced by the then strong, the music area largely dominant disco wave in the late 1970s. The music was therefore locally poppy accordingly. Dynasty was the first album that only appeared two years after the previous studio album.

Singer and rhythm guitarist Paul Stanley commented on the creation of the album: “I’m fully behind Dynasty, except that I do not quite agree with the production of some songs, it sometimes sounds too sterile. As a result, we lost a bit of sharpness, it sounded just like Unmasked Weichspülmusik. Peter had a lot of problems with Dynasty, and the band was under a lot of pressure, so they indulged in all kinds of vices and distractions. Out of all this chaos the album was created. The production does not do justice to most of the songs, but that was no problem for us then. We tried desperately to give the band a bit more stability, and the album seemed so much safer to us. Bill [Aucoin, Manager, note] thought we should appeal to a wider audience. Of course we wondered why, but we should never get an answer to that. The best remedy for aggressive music is to turn down the guitars and use a synthesizer […]. Songs like ‘Magic Touch’ or ‘Sure Know Something’ actually had far more whistle than can be seen on the album. Nevertheless, we just landed our biggest international hit song, I Was Made for Lovin ‘You, with a song from this album. The album marked a change of direction, it more or less reflected our situation at the time. ”

Singer and bassist Gene Simmons commented on the story as follows: “We went through a period in which we tried different material and thought that we could not keep repeating ourselves. We wanted to bring some fresh wind into the band and find out if we could take the whole thing a step further. At that time we were the market leader in merchandise, year after year, the most popular band in the Gallup Poll and so on. We played in huge arenas. That’s why we thought it was not enough just to be a rock ‘n’ roll band, which of course was our biggest mistake. […] I find that both ‘Dynasty’ and ‘Unmasked’ were not a successful move because we lost our spirit. At the time, we filled baseball stadiums and never expected anything to go wrong. Not to mention, of course, all our merchandise. I think we took off then and lost the sense of who we really were. At first we had been a band that focused on loud guitars, but suddenly synths were added to our music. That may be an interesting change, and I think small changes of direction are also quite good, but you should not exaggerate something like that and certainly not make it a habit. I think we made a mistake with the albums. One or two songs I liked quite well, but I could not approve of the other songs. We were pretty brave. I mean, ‘I Made Made for Lovin’ You ‘was a smash hit worldwide, but it did not suit Kiss because it did not personify our true identity. ”

The album reached high chart positions and was represented in some countries in the top ten. In Australia and New Zealand, the LP came in second, in Canada seventh, in the US in 9th place, in Austria 13th, in 17th in Sweden, 21st in Japan, 34th in Norway and only in the UK 50.

The album reached in the US on June 6, 1979, just a few weeks after its release, the gold status with 500,000 copies sold. On July 10, 1979, there were already 1,000,000 copies and thus received platinum status. In Canada, the LP reached in November 1979 with 200,000 copies sold double platinum.

There were three single releases: I Made for Lovin ‘You, Sure Know Something and Dirty Livin.

The song I Made Made for Lovin ‘You became a hit and because of its catchy melody a catchy tune. The song was significant, even more than most of the other tracks on the album, marked by the disco music. Paul Stanley, who wrote the song, said he could write such stuff “in his sleep”. In Germany, the title was from July 28, 1979 to November 16, 1979 a total of 16 weeks in the top ten. The highest ranking was from September 8, 1979 for four weeks in second place. Such a success has not been able to repeat for Kiss in Germany so far. A number 1 hit was the song in Canada, the Netherlands and New Zealand. He finished 2nd in Australia, France and Switzerland. In Austria, the song reached number 6. In the Norwegian charts, it was enough for 10th place for the top ten. Unlike in the US: There, the piece was still successful in 11th place. With 50th place the song was not a hit in the UK.

Sure Know Something was the second hit, reaching # 3 in the Netherlands, # 5 in Australia, # 11 in New Zealand, #28 in Germany, # 47 in the US and # 48 in Canada.

Dirty Livin made it in Germany at least ranked 25.

The songs I Made Made for Lovin ‘You and Dirty Livin were remixed for release as Maxisingle by Jim Burgess and released in a longer version than the singles.